Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Ile-a-la-Crosse Wins Northwest High School Hockey League Championship

In an uncharacteristically low scoring affair, the Ile-a-la-Crosse Huskies won their first Northwest High School Hockey League title with a 2-1 overtime win to get by the Canoe Lake Miksiw.

In the extra frame, Corey Desjarlais let a shot go from just inside the blue-line and the puck found its way behind screened goaltender, Michael Bouvier for the winner.

The Huskies' upset over top ranked Canoe Lake is Ile-a-la-Crosse's first win in four tries in the Championship Series.

NWHHL Commissioner Vince Ahenakew asked me to relay these thank you's:

Thanks to coaches, scorekeepers, behind the scenes workers, referees, the Northern Village of Buffalo Narrows for allowing us to use their ice, and a special thank you to Cameco Corporation for subsidizing the referees all season.

Thanks to all teams for another successful season – La Loche Lakers; Turnor Lake Aces; Buffalo Narrows Eagles; Dillon – Buffalo River Bisons; Ile a la Crosse Huskies; Canoe Lake Miksiw and Patuanak Timberwolves.

Plans/discussions are under way to include Pine House and maybe Beauval next season.
Interesting that the league is looking at expanding.  It would be cool to see a couple more teams enter into the Northwest League next winter.

Time for me to extend some thank you's to everyone who helped me out getting scores and information this season.  I expect the new website will help that along as well next season.  Special thanks to Vince for getting me all the scheduling and filling in gaps in my information during the playoffs and to Steve McKay for his help with a feature on Colton Iron during the season (and of course to Colton for doing the interview).

Congratulations to Ile-a-la-Crosse on the victory and to all of the teams on a season well played!


No comments:

Post a Comment